about me · Personal

Hello

2015-12-30 20.22.46.pngA friend of mine told me it would be a good idea to start a blog, I don’t really know how to start this, but I’ll try. Hello, my name is Dominique. I am 23 years old, I was born in a minuscule town in New-Brunswick Canada, moved to Ottawa when I was 17 to go to university, and now I am currently living in Incheon Korea. I enjoy dancing, drawing, photography, sleeping and being lazy. Recently, I have had a hard time, hence why my friend told me to start a blog, to express myself. Long story short, I had this dream since I was 16 years old to come to Korea to be an English teacher. So I made it come true. Problem is, in the year of 2015, I had everything I ever wanted. I was part of a dance team that let me perform to great events, I had the best friends around me, and I gave my heart to this amazing guy. I literally had everything I ever wanted here and there. But you have to know something, I am a stubborn girl. So I decided to go through with my dream and got a job in Incheon. I was in heaven. The big problem was, I was only living in the present, I didn’t think of the near future when I would actually move. Therefore, once I stepped on that plane and left everything behind to pursue a dream I had when I was 16, well, things didn’t go so well. So here I am today, December 28th 2015 at 7PM in a coffee shop, writing my first blog post ever. Homesick. Depressed. Lonely. But worse of all, heartbroken. Four days ago, I gave my notice to my boss that I would be leaving Korea at the end of the semester, cancelling my one-year contract right in the middle. I have two more months to go. Don’t worry, if you’re reading this blog, it won’t be depressed all the time because of course, Korea has a lot of great things to offer. I plan to talk about what I go through, just like a diary, but I also want to show my daily life as a foreigner in Korea. Through pictures and blog posts, and hopefully videos if I can get off my ass and edit. A lot of my friends dream of coming here, but the thing is, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows here. I want to show both sides of Korea, to hopefully prepare some people to the lonely life of living abroad by yourself. Feel free to share your experiences with me, to read, like, comment, anything. Or just pass on. I don’t really know what the future is for this blog, the only thing that I know is that I’m going home in two months, and that I am counting the days.

Leave a Reply

