Life in Korea · Rant

I will not miss [2]

I will not miss being nothing more than an object of fantasy. I don’t consider myself to be pretty and I have a lot of self-confidence issues, but apparently according to Korean standards, I am attractive. The thing is, Korean men only want to date a foreign girl to be able to brag to their friends that they have had sex with a non-asian girl, not to actually build a future with the girl. A lot of times, I’ll just be sitting at a coffee shop, minding my own business, drawing or being on my computer with my earphones in, and random people just find it natural to just sit at my table to start a conversation with me. I clearly do not want to be bothered, but Korean guys are so determined, it’s hilarious. I’ve had a lot of people ask me for my numbers. To some of them I give, others I don’t. But recently I’ve completely stopped giving my number to anyone. There is this one guy who I met a couple of times after he rudely sat at my table, and that told me that he wanted to learn English. I met him because I genuinely wanted to give him a chance to practice, but he soon started hitting on me, even telling me that dating a foreign girl was on his bucket list. Dude, this is the worst pick-up line in history. After only meeting him twice, he asked me to be his girlfriend because I was “so beautiful” and that he could “do everything I want”. I seriously felt like an item from his fantasy, and I feel this way almost 90 percent of the time I meet a guy here. I will not miss adult men staring at me from head to toe like I’m a piece of meat. They literally walk up next to me, standing so close trying to make eye contact so that I would let them talk to me. I’ve never felt comfortable being the center of attention, so people staring at me like it was the most natural thing just makes me extremely embarrassed. I can’t even count the amount of times I’ll just be walking in the streets and hearing old men saying “Oh pretty/beautiful girl”. This is only happening because of the fact that I come from another country. That I am “exotic” to them. And it’s freaking annoying and embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

