Life in Korea

15 days

15 more days before I take the plane home. It is starting to hit me. This week I have been telling all my students that I am leaving at the end of the month, and I keep reminding them of how many classes we have left together. It makes me extremely sad that I will have to say goodbye to my adorable students. Whenever I talk to the other teachers I often hear about how bad their students are, but I’ve been really lucky because I adore all of my students, and they seem to like me back. I’ve had some rough patches with some students, but it was resolved pretty easily. The best feeling in the world is knowing that your students like you. I love when I make my students laugh, or when they have this hint of proudness in their eyes when they answer correctly. I love seeing their smiles, which is why I can’t be strict with any of them. I always try to make our classes fun and relaxed since Korean students literally spend all day in school. My students are the thing I will miss the most, and it makes me sad to think that to them I’m just another foreign teacher. They switch teachers every 6 months, so they have seen many. But to me, they’ll always be my first students. Writing this, I have tears in my eyes. I truly love teaching my students, and I’m scared that teaching in Canada will be a totally different experience, and that I won’t like it as much.

Leave a Reply

