Life in Korea · Personal · teaching

Saying goodbye to my children [2]

Yesterday was my last day at work. It was tough to say goodbye to 6 classes that I completely love, but luckily, I received a lot of love and adorable notes from them. 5 out of my 6 classes had tests, so I gave each student a piece of paper to draw or write me a letter once they were finished with their test. First, I had to say goodbye to my 8-years old students from Puppy class. My favourite student, Junseok (the boy in the front with the navy shirt), handed me a letter he wrote at home when I entered the class. You have to understand, they are very young and they can barely make a full sentence in English. But this adorable child worked super hard to write me a note all in English telling me how he will miss me. I can’t even. I gave all the other students some blank papers and told them they could write in Korean. I received cute letters and drawings from all my students.Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 5.08.04 PM.png

Next was my adorable but loud Otter class. I became really close with them during our six months, and I was very sad to see that two students were missing Friday. I got a lot of cute memos from the girls of this class since I started teaching them, and got even more on my last day. I even got some from my boys! Although they were quite short hahah. But! They said that they will miss me, so it’s all good. It was hard to not cry when I sent them on their way to the bus.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 5.08.13 PM.png

Next was my everyday Calf class. I’ve seen them everyday for the past 6 months, so saying goodbye to them was also very hard. Friday was review day so we got to play games for the whole lesson. Hyun Hak gave me many pokemon cards because I had previously showed him my Squirtle drawing when I saw he was collecting cards. I also got drawings and letters from my girls. They all told me that they didn’t want me to leave, and that they will miss me. I will miss them too.12792118_10209247183402987_7484427363958586290_o.jpg

Then came Vicuna’s turn. Usually, my vicuna class is talkative, not loud but they like to talk. They are my little angels, so respectful and smart. Friday, they were all very quiet, and they all seemed down. They were the ones who reacted the most when I told them that I was leaving. They were all surprised and upset by it. I left each students a little note in their journals, and they made sure to write me little messages when I left. Some of them added me on Kakaotalk, I’m happy I’ll be able to keep in touch with them!

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 5.30.09 PM.png

Ibis class was next with my favourite and smartest twins Hee Hak and Hee Won! They had an essay to write as well as speaking tests to do, so I got to see them one-on-one for the last time. It was really relaxed and fun, but it was also very hard for me. The twins are just to adorable and annoying, I won’t forget them!

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 5.35.21 PM.png

Last class was my Turle class. These girls and boys are always joking in class. Doyeon, a student who is obsessed with drawing airplanes and who has the cutest laugh, gave me a letter and a shark he made with some kind of play dough. Also everyone wrote me a letter after their tests, and some added me on Kakaotalk. When I told them that they’d have to talk to me in English on Katalk, I think they all regretted adding me hahah. I will miss their laughs and Wheejong’s witty comments.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 5.40.02 PM.png

Leaving my school was lot harder than I expected. Even though it was my choice to cancel my contract and to return home, I will seriously miss my students and my co-workers. I’m amazed at how close I became with each of my classes in such a short time. I’m usually a shy and reserved person, plus I never had any contact with young kids before, and I didn’t really like kids before coming here. But all these adorable faces are saved in my memory, and I will cherish the memories of my little children. Of my little brothers and sisters. I really hope I can meet them again someday. Bye bye Bupyeong SLP, and thank you for everything!

Leave a Reply

